Elkhart County Miracle

Northern League Announces 2023 Major Awards, All-League Team

Thanks to everyone who supported the Elkhart County Miracle in our inaugural season!  Your passion for our team is obvious and we look forward to seeing you at the park next year!

Chicago, Ill. – Aug. 4, 2023 – The Northern League has announced its 2023 major award winners and All-Northern League Team in advance of the league’s playoffs, which begin on Saturday.

Dawson Willis of the Elkhart County Miracle has been named Northern League Most Valuable Player, while Nolan Vlcek of the Southland Vikings has been named the league’s Pitcher of the Year. In addition, Justin Huisman of the Lake County Corn Cobs repeated as the League’s Manager of the Year.

The major awards were voted upon by the league’s managers and broadcasters, while the All-NL Team was determined by a broadcaster-only ballot. The All-NL Team – which can be found below – is headlined by a pair of unanimous selections, Vlcek and Northwest Indiana Oilmen pitcher Joey Turek.

Willis ranked fourth in the league in batting average at .322 and fourth in RBIs with 29 while leading the league with 28 stolen bases. He reached base at a .429 clip while slugging .489 in 48 games, accumulating 42 runs scored, 58 hits, 15 doubles, six triples, a home run and 29 walks.

Vlcek dominated the Pitcher of the Year voting, earning nine of 11 possible first-place votes. He led the league with a glittering 1.94 earned run average while tying for the league lead in wins with six and ranking fourth with 48 strikeouts. Vlcek, in his third season with Southland, will go down as one of the most successful players in Vikings history.

Huisman earned his second straight Northern League Manager of the Year nod after leading the Corn Cobs to a 33-13 mark and a .717 winning percentage en route to their second straight NL Regular Season title. The Corn Cobs are the No. 1 seed for the Northern League Playoffs as they seek their second straight league crown. Huisman becomes the first two-time Manager of the Year in league history. The league began awarding the Manager of the Year honor in 2015.

The No. 2 Northwest Indiana Oilmen and No. 4 Southland Vikings will meet on Saturday at 7:10 p.m. at Oil City Stadium in Game 1 of one NL Semifinal Series, while the No. 1 Lake County Corn Cobs and No. 4 Indiana Panthers start their best-of-three series on Saturday at 7 p.m. at Legacy Fields.

2023 NL Major Awards 

MVP – Dawson Willis, Elkhart County 

Pitcher of the Year, Nolen Vlcek, Southland 

Manager of the Year – Justin Huisman, Lake County 

2023 All-Northern League Team


Nolen Vlcek, Southland (unanimous) 

Joey Turek, NWI (unanimous) 

Brandon Laux, NWI 

Tyler Laux, NWI 

Ryan Troxel, Lake County 

Conor Gausselin, Elkhart County 

Position Players 

Catcher – Ranko Stevanovic, Lake County 

Middle Infield – Dawson Willis (EC), Kevin Hall (LC) and Randy Seymour (NWI) 

Corner Infield – Bryce Lesher (EC) and Kevin Bushnell (IND) 

Outfield – Owen Winters (LC), Nic Altobelli (GRIF), George Bilecki (IND) and Kevin Denty (NWI) 

Northern League Manager of the Year History
2023 – Justin Huisman, Lake County Corn Cobs

2022 – Justin Huisman, Lake County Corn Cobs
2021 – Joe Silva, Joliet Generals
2020 – Isaac Valdez, Crestwood Panthers
2019 – Jake Wegner, Bloomington Bobcats
2018 – Ben Caple, DuPage County Hounds
2017 – Kevin Franchetti, Southland Vikings
2016 – Tom Barry, Joliet Admirals
2015 – Sean Osborne, DuPage County Hounds

Northern League MVP History
2023 – Dawson Willis, Elkhart County

2022 – Michael Gould, Joliet Generals
2021 – Bryce Vincent, Joliet Generals
2020 – Ray Hilbrich, Crestwood Panthers
2019 – Nick Santoro, DuPage County Hounds
2018 – Nate Montgomery, NWI Oilmen
2017 – Jack Butler, Bloomington Bobcats
2016 – Tyler Sroczynski, NWI Oilmen
2015 – Tyler Sroczynski, NWI Oilmen
2014 – Bobby Sheppard & Jeff Boehm, Southland Vikings

Northern League Pitcher of the Year History
2023 – Nolan Vlcek, Southland Vikings

2022 – Ryan Troxel, Lake County Corn Cobs
2021 – Jack Guzek, NWI Oilmen
2020 – Jordan Smevoll, DuPage County Hounds
2019 – Justin Rios, Southland Vikings
2018 – Quinn Gudaitis, Bloomington Bobcats
2017 – Kevin Glynn, Southland Vikings
2016 – Mitch Weis, Bloomington Bobcats
2015 – Tom Concklin, DuPage County Hounds

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Connect with the Elkhart County Miracle by purchasing tickets in advance, visiting our online team store, and getting the inside info on the players.

b Monday-Friday: 9am to 5pm;

Satuday: 10am to 2pm

z Elkhart County Miracle Baseball Box 252 Elkhart, IN 46515